Getting prepared

Published April 25, 2014 by reachandflexibility

So with only 6 weeks or so left till D day I’m starting to get stressed. It’s not so much I want to be, more that my brain likes kicking in at 2am and reminding me of everything that is going to be happening. And it’s not just Beth’s arrival to shake things up. My college exams start Monday and it feels like despite weeks of classes and working my ass off nothing learnt has stuck. I read a previous exam question and I can feel the information in my head but not the answers. I’ve been trying to revise anatomy for a week now and even though it’s going in very slowly, I know on the day the questions that come up will not be relevant to anything I’ve picked up. I’m putting the pressure on myself of course as normal. I’m not sleeping already as it is. In between bathroom breaks, the morning sickness (Which still continues), heartburn and just aches and pains it’s making for long nights and a vile woman to deal with first thing. Kim got the blunt end of things this morning with a simple joke about the dishwasher. Pup is getting it today just by being pup.

I should relax, I know. I’ll be fine. I’ll do the exams and I’ll pass at the very least. Beth will be born and everything will just slot in and work as it should. I think I’ve started worrying with the birth side of things a little more though since yesterday. We had our antenatal class and were told to get our bags packed by next week as anything could happen from now on. I think it’s the uncertainty of it all that’s driving me nuts. I sort of just want her here now. I’m tired of worrying over things that are out of my control with her. We’ve got pretty much everything ready for her though knowing me it’ll all be off in some sort of way when she does arrive. I worry about being alone with her when she is here. Like I don’t know a thing about babies. They say it comes naturally, but does it? And how will I cope with things like generally living and then managing pup to top it off. I’m currently washing all the clothes that Kim’s mum got for us. (So very grateful for these as they were perfect and a huge weight off my mind) but I’m pretty sure I’ve gone and managed to dye everything pink. It wasn’t till they were solidly in the wash that I realised there were whites and colours in there. I sort of hope it doesn’t go all wrong but if it does will it just prove the sort of failure parent I’ll be? Yeah this is my brain currently. I just have to keep singing this one song to myself.

Patti: What’s going to happen? What does the future hold? So many things that I put off, Assuming I’d have time, assuming I’d grow old. What’s going to happen? And will I be alive tomorrow? What’s going to happen…to me?

Dr. Cox: You’re going to be okay

All: That’s what’s going to happen. Everything’s okay. We’re right here beside you, we won’t let you slip away. Plan for tomorrow ’cause we swear to you, you’re going to be okay

Patti: I’m going to be okay

All: That’s what’s going to happen

Patti: Everything’s okay

All: Everything’s okay. We will never leave you, right here we will stay (Plan for tomorrow) Plan for tomorrow, ’cause we swear to you, you’re going to be okay

J.D.: We hope…

Dr. Cox: Shhhhh…..

Leave a Reply

